Catherine da Costa is a dying woman whose final wish is to see her two granddaughters find their family roots and marry nice Sephardic Jewish boys. When a vision from her family's past visits her one night, Catherine has found her ruse -- a rare book hunt across Europe. This novel intersperses the modern story with pages of an ancient manuscript found during the treasure hunt. The reader also learns about the history of Sephardic Jews and the resilience of a culture during persecution. The only thing missing is a genealogical chart and a map. Fans of Geraldine Brooks' People of the Book and Katherine Neville's The Eight will like this novel.

TheresaAJ's rating:
[]
[]
To Top