Ice Cold

Ice Cold

A Rizzoli & Isles Novel

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
20
Stranded with her traveling companions in an eerily deserted Wyoming village during a blizzard, Maura discovers that they are being watched and pursues help when a party member is injured, an effort that turns nightmarish when she is abducted into the woods.
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, 2011, c2010.
Edition: 2011 Ballantine Books mass market ed.
ISBN: 9780345515490
0345515498
Characteristics: 456 pages. ; 18 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
redworc
Jan 30, 2018

I enjoyed Season One of the T.V. series and quite enjoyed this book as well. Will keep on with them.

n
NRBBrady
Dec 30, 2017

I have always enjoyed the Rizzoli & Isles series by this author as there are enough twists and turns and unexpected directions to keep me entertained and guessing until the very end. having said that, I confess that this was my least favorite - the third person perspective, the cult aspect, I don't know exactly why but this was hard to stay with to the end. Every author gets one "pass", and for me, this was the one for Tess Gerritsen. This is a book I was happy to finish, but one I will not be choosing to reread in the future.

rb3221 Sep 08, 2017

Good but not Gerritsen's best as the story revolves around Isles who is not my favorite character. There is the usual twists and turns especially in the last few chapters. Good pace, lots of suspense with crooked cops and the religious cult and the many murders. I enjoyed the surprise ending coupled with Julian Perkins and his new mentor and the ending of Isles' relationship with Daniel (or maybe not?).

j
jenniferrabbit
Apr 02, 2017

Well, it's obvious that I'm on a totally different plane than the rest of the reviewers! Nevertheless here's my impression.

On a side trip after a medical conference pathologist Maura Isles and her party are disabled in a snow storm: murder, conspiracy and tragedy ensue. Writing style is not to my taste – third-person point of view, with only shallow follow-up of characters earlier introduced so that though there are plenty of descriptions of fear, pain and terror the overall impression is (to me) flat affect. There are great bones to the plot but the author’s choice to keep the reader (or at least to keep me) at a distance, prevents (me) from fully engaging with any character.

I can see what attracts other readers to this book - the action is vivid and non-stop, and there are plenty of unexpected twists to keep us guessing. But I like strong characterization and a tighter, continuous thread among all the elements of the plot. Clearly, from the other reviews, that's just me.

4
40parachute
May 11, 2016

Really got into this story...great characters and unsuspected bad guy. A book I wanted to keep reading even when it was time to put it down!

s
Shelley51
Dec 19, 2015

Excellent. Wanted to Read it in one day but life kept interrupting!

i
ilovewhippets
Nov 26, 2014

Superbly written! Lots of intrigue! Mesmerizing, hard-to-put down! I highly recommend it!

BPLNextBestAdults Mar 01, 2013

While attending a pathologists’ conference in Wyoming, Maura Isles accepts an old classmate’s offer to accompany him, his daughter, and his friends on an overnight ski trip. When their SUV gets stuck in the snow, the group takes refuge in a remote village named Kingdom Come. The twelve eerily identical houses; however, have been abandoned – seemingly in haste.

This dramatic, suspense will have readers turning pages faster than the snow fell in the Wyoming wilderness. Fans of Gerritsen, Lisa Jackson and Keith Ablow definitely should curl up in front of the fire with this dramatic novel filled with unpredictable twists. Written by PGH.

0
09ryaa
Aug 22, 2012

great book. very exciting. had to read it all in one night as i was to scared to go to bed with it unfinished. that village was truly terrifying. the only thing that disappointed me a little bit was the abrupt ending. it felt like an entire mystery that kept you guessing the entire book was given an obscure and un-related resolution and was wrapped up in a page or two.

w
writer13
Nov 23, 2011

Definitely one of the best of the series! I don't know if there is any setting in a novel that is more creepy than an abandoned village. In this author's capable hands she takes the reader to dark places with frightening imagery and fantastic pacing. Highly recommended.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ALCO

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top